NCCN Guidelines for Patients® | Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia - page 21

NCCN Guidelines for Patients
: Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
Version 1.2014
Par t 7
Par t 6
Par t 5
Par t 4
Par t 3
Par t 2
Par t 1
Part 3: Phases of chronic myelogenous leukemia
3.1 – Chronic phase
Describes the first phase of progression, when
the number of white blood cells is increased but
may not cause symptoms.
3.2 – Accelerated phase
Describes the second phase of progression,
when the number of blast cells is increased and
more likely to cause symptoms.
3.3 – Blast phase
Describes the third and final phase of progression,
when the number of blast cells is the highest and
can be life-threatening.
3.4 – Risk assessment
Describes the scoring systems used to
help gauge the likely outcome of chronic
myelogenous leukemia and treatment.
3.5 – Tools
Lists webpages with helpful information about
the phases of chronic myelogenous leukemia.
Chronic myelogenous leukemia is divided into three
groups of progression called phases. The treatments
doctors recommend for chronic myelogenous leukemia
depend on the phase of the cancer. The phase is based
on the amount of immature white blood cells, called
blasts, in the blood and bone marrow as well as the
severity of symptoms. The cancer phase and other
factors affect the likely outcome (prognosis). Part 3
describes the different phases of chronic myelogenous
leukemia as well as the scoring systems used to help
predict prognosis. This information will help you use the
treatment guide in Part 5.
1...,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20 22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,...100
Powered by FlippingBook