NCCN Guidelines for Patients® | Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia - page 6

NCCN Guidelines for Patients
: Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
Version 1.2014
1.1 What are blood cells?
Blood is made of many types of cells, called blood cells.
The three main types of blood cells are platelets, red
blood cells, and white blood cells. Platelets help control
bleeding. Red blood cells carry oxygen throughout the
body. White blood cells are part of the immune system
and help fight infections in the body.
Blood cells are made from stem cells in the bone
marrow—the soft, sponge-like tissue in the center of most
bones. See Figure 1. These are called blood stem cells
or hematopoietic stem cells.
Blood stem cells make many different types of blood
cells. See Figure 2. Blast cells, such as myeloblasts and
lymphoblasts, are immature blood cells that become
mature white blood cells. There are three main types
of white blood cells: monocytes, lymphocytes, and
granulocytes. Lymphoid stem cells form lymphocytes.
Myeloid stem cells form red blood cells, platelets,
monocytes, and granulocytes. Neutrophils, eosinophils,
and basophils are granulocytes.
Figure 1. Blood cells in bone marrow
Illustration Copyright © 2013 Nucleus Medical Media, All rights reserved.
Figure 2. ‘Family tree’ of blood cells
Illustration Copyright © 2013 Nucleus Medical Media, All rights reserved.
1,2,3,4,5 7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,...100
Powered by FlippingBook