NCCN Guidelines for Patients® | Esophageal Cancer - page 11

NCCN Guidelines for Patients
: Esophageal Cancer
Version 1.2013
Part 2: Cancer staging
Par t 1
Par t 2
Par t 3
Par t 4
Par t 5
Par t 6
Par t 7
Par t 8
Par t 9
2.1 Clinical staging tests
Lists the clinical staging tests for
esophageal cancer.
2.2 Pathology review
Describes the laboratory studies of
tissue samples.
2.3 TNM scores
Defines the scores used to rate tumor growth.
2.4 Stages of esophageal cancer
Presents the five stages of esophageal cancer.
2.5 Tools
Lists helpful webpages along with questions
to ask your doctor about tests.
If you have esophageal cancer, your doctors will want
to know the extent of its growth. Cancer staging is a
rating by your doctors of the extent of the cancer based
on test results. Cancer staging is used by doctors to
plan which additional tests may be needed or which
treatments are best for you.
Cancer is often staged twice. The first rating is done
before treatment and is called the clinical (or baseline)
stage. The second rating is done after treatment, such
as surgery, and is called the pathologic stage. Part 2
describes the tests used for clinical staging and defines
the stages of esophageal cancer.
1...,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,...100
Powered by FlippingBook