







2025 YIA winners (from left):
Rachel Abelman, MD;
Mathew Angelos, MD, PhD;
Kathryn Tringale, MD, MAS;
Jennifer Zhang, MD



NCCN Foundation® Young Investigator Awards (YIA) Program

Investing in Innovative Cancer Research and Supporting the Next Generation of Cancer Researchers

- More than 75 investigators have been awarded nearly \$11.1 million, since program's launch in 2011
- Awards are for a duration of 2 years
- Amount of a full award is \$150,000
- Candidates are nominated by NCCN Member Institutions
- Awardees contribute significant new knowledge to advance cancer care, become new leaders in the field of oncology, and more!

NCCN.org/YIA

NCCN Foundation® Young Investigator Awards (YIA) Program

Hall of Fame

2011

Kenneth Carson, MD, Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Joanne Lester, PhD, CNP, AOCN, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute

Nadine Jackson McCleary, MD, MPH, Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center | Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center

William Tew, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

2012

Piero Dalerba, MD, Stanford Cancer Institute Crystal Denlinger, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center

Ronan Kelly, MD, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

Elissa Ozanne, PhD, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

2013

Karl Bilimoria, MD, MS, Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

Yiping He, PhD, Duke Cancer Institute

Phillip Pierorazio, MD, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Honkins

Sue Yom, MD, PhD, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

2014

James Murphy, MD, MS, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center

Jae Park, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Ashley Rosko, MD, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute

Terri Woodard, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Jing Xia, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

2015

James Blachly, MD, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute

Roisin Connolly, MBBCh, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

Areej El-Jawahri, MD, Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center | Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center

Douglas Johnson, MD, MSCI, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Todd Morgan, MD, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Christine Veenstra, MD, MSPH, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Alpa Nick, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

2016

James Chen, MD, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute

Ryan Nipp, MD, MPH, Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center | Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center

Elias Obeid, MD, MPH, Fox Chase Cancer Center Saul Priceman, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center

Kathryn Ruddy, MD, MPH, Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center

Daniel Sherbenou, MD, PhD, University of Colorado Cancer Center

Geoffrey Sonn, MD, Stanford Cancer Institute

2017

Kemi Doll, MD, MSCR, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

Saad J. Kenderian, MB ChB, Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center

Florian Muller, PhD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Elizabeth Stewart, MD, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Liqin Zhu, PhD, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

2018

Rebecca Arend, MD, O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB

Yin Cao, MPH, ScD, Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine

Tim Luetkens, MD, Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah

Edwin R. Manuel, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center

Cecilia Yeung, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer

2019

Prasanna Ananth, MD, MPH, Yale Cancer Center/Smilow Cancer Hospital

Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD, Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

Kedar Kirtane, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center **Yanming Li, PhD,** University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

2020

Agnieszka Czechowicz, MD, PhD, Stanford Cancer Institute

Wade T. lams, MD, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Shivan Mehta, MD, MBA, MSHP, Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania

Mustafa Raoof, MD, City of Hope National Medical Center

Jennifer Y. Sheng, MD, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

Omar Y. Mian, MD, PhD, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center/University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center and Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute

2021

Esra Akbay, PhD, UT Southwestern Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center

William C. Jackson, MD, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Everett Moding, MD, PhD, Stanford Cancer Institute

Neelima Navuluri, MD, MPH, Duke Cancer Institute

Ravi Parikh, MD, MPP, Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania

Deborah Stephens, DO, Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah

Caitlin Zebley, MD, PhD, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

2022

Christos Fountzilas, MD, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

Zachary Frosch, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center

Chad Tang, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Shuang (George) Zhao, MD, MSE, University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center

Ana Tergas, MD, MPH, City of Hope National Medical Center

Abhishek Chakraborty, PhD, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center/University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center and Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute

Richard Tobin, PhD, University of Colorado Cancer Center

NCCN Foundation® Young Investigator Awards (YIA) Program

Hall of Fame

2023

Julia Agne, MD, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute

Arnab Basu, MD, MPH, O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB

Kimberley Lee, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center

Yuxuan Wang, MD, PhD, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

2024

Zachary Burke, MD, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center/University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center and Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute

Calista Harbaugh, MD, MS, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Alexander Muir, PhD, The UChicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center

Andreas Rauschecker, MD, PhD, MSc, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

James Smithy, MD, MHS, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

2025

Rachel Abelman, MD, Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center | Mass General Cancer Center

Mathew Angelos, MD, PhD, University of Colorado Cancer Center

Kathryn Tringale, MD, MAS, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center

Jennifer Zhang, MD, Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania