Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  18 / 92 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 18 / 92 Next Page
Page Background


NCCN Guidelines for Patients


Stomach Cancer, Version 1.2016


Cancer staging

The 5 stages

The 5 stages

Chart 1

shows the staging groups labeled by Roman

numerals 0–IV. Stage 0 is also called carcinoma in

situ. The stages are defined by the TNM scores.

In general, earlier cancer stages have better

outcomes. However, doctors define cancer stages with

information from thousands of patients, so a cancer

stage gives an average outcome. It may not tell the

outcome for one person. Some people will do better

than expected. Others will do worse. Other factors not

used for staging cancer, such as your general health,

are also very important.

Cancer is often staged twice. The first rating is done

before treatment and is called the clinical (or baseline)

stage. The second rating is done after treatment, such

as surgery, and is called the pathologic stage.